Cardshop-Fireball: One-Stop Shop For Your TCG Needs

(Featured image from Otakumode Source=https://d3ieicw58ybon5.cloudfront.net/ex/1200.680/u/d80c9c26c1fe4b6eae11e96a43abade8.jpg)

Hey guys, it’s me again! long time no see LOL!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted something here! Been busy in College lately. Last week I went to Japan for summer vacation. While in Japan I decided to snick in to my itinerary a trip to Cardshop-Fireball in hopes to purchase FoW merchandise.

Before I go any further I would like to warn everyone that,  this is not a rant post – this is what I’ve really experienced while in Akihabara, and Fireball. Please don’t let this post prevent you from going there as well. 😀 Japan is a nice place: people are very accommodating, and majority of its citizens are very helpful.

This article will be split into two parts, the first will be the review of Fireball and second will be about tips before visiting Fireball. :3

Cardshop-Fireball is located at Akihabara Electric Town two blocks away from the Animate building near the Akiba JR Line Station, and a short walk from Kimidore (Special Doujinshi Store).

Here is the address:

〒101-0021 Tōkyō-to, Chiyoda-ku, Sotokanda, 3 Chome 小暮末広ビル

(If you’re going to take a Taxi i suggest showing the Zip code to the Driver which is 101-0021 he will type it on his GPS.)

The store is located on the 7th floor. Fireball specializes on Trading Card Games specifically Force Of Will, but they do sell other TCGs like Yugioh, Magic, and Bushi TCG. On Force of Will products, they sell a lot… and i mean A LOT of FoW Products especially Playmats, Sleeves, Deck Boxes. And all of them are very very cheap! Especially the KMC Sleeves!! (wanted to buy in bulk but lost my money on Art books HAHAHAHA!)

The Fireball staff are very nice and accommodating! The only problem that i encountered (an isolated case perhaps) was that i had a hard time asking for FoW cards, as i was not prepared to speak in Nihongo – specifically asking for FoW Japanese singles. The staff understands English but when i comes to card names they would get confused and usually they will answer back in Japanese, though they will try their best to really help you out. But in the end i decided to just say “Daijobu Desu (its okay!)” Though if you want to buy FoW Boosters and Booster Box just point and say “I want to buy one” or “Kore” and they will get it for you then show you the price via Calculator, or if the product has a price tag they will point to it.

Oh! I forgot… I wasn’t able to take pictures as the staff that I asked said I can’t take pictures of the things they sell in the store (though majority of the stores in Japan do not allow you to take pictures which i understand).

In the end i wasn’t able to purchase FoW Japanese Singles. Though i wanted to buy a Booster Box because it was freaking cheap!!! I had no space left in my baggage and it might get squished if i bought one.

TIP! BEFORE BUYING / GOING TO FIREBALL AND AKIBA!!

  1. Be prepared to speak at least little Nihongo.
    • It’s very handy to bring a book of Japanese phrases to help you out, though you wont use it all of the time because majority of people in Japan understands English. The only words you will need to know is “Sumimasen (Excuse me)” “Arigatou Gozaimasu (Thank You)”  and from time to time “Kore (This)” and “Sono (That)”. Heck while i was in Japan I spoke english all the time and they all understand me. I just say “Sumimasen” when asking someone for help and “Arigatou” if i want to say thank you. I also spoke Filipino to two staff – one from Uniqlo and one from B-Label Harajuku (They were Japanese) they spoke back in Filipino, and were able to chat with me. Awesome!!!
  2. Have a picture of the FoW Card/s you want to purchase. 
    • I should have brought a picture of the cards I wanted and that was my mistake. If you don’t know the Japanese names of the cards just bring an image of it and they will ask a staff who knows the game to help you find it.
  3. Bring LOTS AND LOTS OF CASH ($$$$$$$)
    • Everything in Japan is cheap (depending on your currency) so be sure to bring lots of Yen if you’re going out shopping! And if you don’t have Yen, don’t fret! JR stations usually have Currency exchange ATMs in which you just slide your money to the machine and it will change it automatically to Yen.
  4. Japan offers Tax Refunds for Tourists
    • Before you pay for anything ask if they offer the “Tax-free” payment option and tell them that you are a tourist. The only thing you will need is your PASSPORT! Never forget your PASSPORT!  I forgot to ask Fireball if they offer that option, but from stores that I have visited acknowledged the tax free options for tourists.

So that’s it for my trip! If you have any questions regarding my post, and on Fireball kindly leave a comment bellow and I’ll answer them!

Leave a Reply

