Rulings: Valentina and the Seven Kings

Welcome to a special post here on Friend & Fow which focuses on an important ruling that will be applied for the Philippine AGP (August 20, 2016). I would like to note that there is no rule change that caused this, rather this post is just to clarify any confusion about Overlord of the Seven lands, Valentina.

045j

Yoshiya Shindo: Official ruling (for now, after discussed with Ikeda-san): We don’t find any problem about rulers having god’s art (and other similar situation), so we keep current rules on CR. Destroyed J-ruler with imperishable goes back to ruler area retaining all abilities, including God’s Art. Some abilities might do nothing (ATK pump, for example), but you can activate it if able.

The ruling has an impact throughout an entire game with the following steps being executed (eventually).

1. Valentina (the Ruler) performs judgment
2. Valentina’s (the J-Ruler) enter-the-field automatic ability enters the chase
3. Valentina’s (the J-Ruler) enter-the field automatic ability resolves gaining the name’s and God’s Arts of revealed J-Rulers.
4. Valentina (the J-Ruler) gets destroyed with imperishable
5. Valentina returns as a ruler retaining all names and God’s Arts obtained from her automatic ability.
6. Valentina (the Ruler) performs a second judgment.
7. Valentina’s (the J-Ruler) enter-the-field automatic ability enters the chase
8. Valentina’s (the J-Ruler) enter-the field automatic ability resolves gaining the name’s and God’s Arts of any revealed J-Rulers (I doubt this will happen because of section 10.4 of the CR “If a card is already revealed you cannot reveal the card again”).

During steps 3 onwards Valentina will have access to the names and God’s Arts. Shindo-san’s ruling differs from the current US rules between steps 5 and 6.

Valentina can perform God’s Arts even while in Ruler form (between step 5 and 6). However no cost reduction effects from Regalia’s will apply because those check explicitly for J-Ruler.

The extra names gained by Valentina creates some interesting interactions with how the Regalia’s of the other Seven Kings work. The most important thing to consider is if the term J-Ruler, only applies to J-Ruler, or J/Ruler, applies to both Ruler and J-Ruler, was used in the card text. Below are the key regalia interactions:

Laevateinn, the Demon Sword, Excalibur, the God’s Sword, Deathscythe, the Life Reaper

0991002096

– Cost reduction of the God’s art will only apply if you control a J-Ruler.
– If you activate the rest ability while you control Ruler and then perform Judgment during that turn, the Cost reduction will apply if your J-Ruler gains or already has the necessary names (Between steps 3 to 4 and after step 6). See section 9.9 Continuous effect of the CR.

Laevateinn, the Demon Sword, Excalibur, the God’s Sword, Horn of Sacred Beasts

099

– If you activate the rest ability while you control Ruler and then perform Judgment during that turn, the Imperishable buff will apply if your J-Ruler gains or already has the necessary names (Between steps 3 to 4 and after step 6). See section 9.9 Continuous effect of the CR

Artemis, the God’s Bow

095

– After you revealed the Arla J-Ruler and control a Ruler or J-Ruler (Any time after step 3), Artemis enter’s the field with four counters.

Gleipnir, the Red Binding of Fate

098

– After you revealed the Valentina J-Ruler and control a Ruler or J-Ruler (Any time after step 3), when you activate the tap ability you will recover the target J/Resonator your opponent controls.

Marybell, the Steel Doll

100

– After you revealed the Machina J-Ruler and control a Ruler or J-Ruler (Any time after step 3), it only costs 3 for marybell to become a 1000/1000 resonator.

One final note: if Valentina (the J-Ruler) is ever destroyed without imperishable, she becomes an Astral Ruler. She loses all of her abilities and doesn’t have ATK or DEF (Section 3.8 of the CR). The loss of abilities here, would result also in her losing the names and God’s Art abilities.

Card images from db.fowtcg.us

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s